Copyright Petersburg Homes Tour. All rights reserved.

2017 Historic High Street Area Holiday Homes Tour

The HoMES

 545 High Street
Circa 1785
Scott and Yvonne Flaherty

This stately, clapboard Federal house, is steeped in Revolutionary War heritage, as one of the owners Erasmus Gill, served as a Captain in the Continental Army under George Washington, and the other, George Hay, was the special prosecutor for America’s first treason trial against Aaron Burr. The house features a huge staircase, and is furnished in a homey comfortable manner. The owners enjoy basking on one of two rear decks, overlooking the massive backyard that’s teeming with native birds of every variety.

311 High Street
Circa 1789
Bob and Bobbi Kennedy

Dodson’s Tavern, a frame clapboard Federal/modified late Georgian home was a favorite of last year’s tour. Impeccably landscaped and furnished in rare early American and primitive antiques, the site was frequented by many dignitaries including Robert E. Lee, Marquis de Lafayette, and Aaron Burr. Owned by the Dodson/Pegram families for the first 180 years, design features include a large hearth in the original winter kitchen in the English basement and the detached summer kitchen converted to a guest house.

244 N. Market Street
 Circa 1816
Judge Oliver Pollard

The Trapezium House, is a Flemish bond brick, Federal style, slate roofed trapezoid shaped structure. Built in 1816 by Irish immigrant, Charles O’Hara, the home’s unique shape was conceived from O’Hara’s West Indian servant, who believed it was good luck to have no right angles in a home. Furnished in period antiques, the site serves as an office and art studio for “Buddy” a very accomplished painter.

1289 UPPER APPOMATTOX LANE
 CIRCA 1768


Battersea is a substantial stuccoed brick house located north of Upper Appomattox Street in the city of Petersburg, near the south bank of the Appomattox River. Even though the 37+ acre property is bordered by a 19th-century neighborhood and a light industrial area, it still retains its historic rural character. The house was built in 1768 by Colonel John Banister, the first Mayor of Petersburg and a signer of the Articles of Confederation. Battersea was designed and built as a symmetrical five-part Anglo-Palladian house featuring a two-story central block, one-story wings that act as hyphens, and one-and-a-half story end pavilions. One-story columned porticos mark the entrances on the front, back, and sides of the house. The plan of the interior reflects the five-part massing of the exterior, presenting a symmetrical single-pile plan with rooms extending to either side of the central block. The designer of the house is unknown.

Battersea is one of the earliest and finest surviving examples of a five-part, Robert Morris-style Palladian house form in the United States, and is the earliest surviving, fully developed example of this house type in Virginia. Battersea represents a refined and original synthesis of ideas from Andrea Palladio and Robert Morris, copying neither but reinterpreting ideas from both to meet 18th-century American needs. The five-part house form was a basic manifestation of Palladianism in both Britain and America, which enjoyed popularity in the United States during the 18th and early-19th centuries. Today, Battersea is a rare and unusually sophisticated survival of this form. Some of the finest early nineteenth century Classically-inspired architectural detailing resulted–distinctive in its period expression and craftsmanship–within the framework of the Palladian form. The later work shows a rare understanding of the derivation of the Palladian form and a clear intention to work within the parameters of this style. Battersea is therefore eligible for national significance under Criterion C in the area of architecture.

280 High Street
Circa 1867
Thomas B. III and Brenda K. Redfern

The Charles Leonard House, an Italianate, frame mansion, capped with the original belvedere, was built by A.A. Traylor. Purchased by English-born hardware merchant Charles Leonard in the 1890s, the property boasts eight fireplaces and mantles, original floors, and a dominate front staircase. The beautifully landscaped grounds feature the original kitchen house which Leonard converted to servants’ quarters, a Revolutionary era stone wall, and the remains of a prior 18th century dwelling, partially located under the current house.

514 Grove Avenue
Circa 1834
Walt and Roberta Purcell

Renovated in 2008, this single-family home was once two properties, 514 and 516 Grove Avenue, with living quarters in 516 and a mercantile store in 514. The two-story Tidewater Vernacular design is constructed of bead wood and shiplap siding with a cedar shingle roof. The house retains an original staircase and has an original Petersburg mantle in the living room. The original kitchen house for 516 was completely rebuilt from the foundation up. The property is breathtaking inside and out.

 416 Grove Avenue
Circa 1807
Cherry Turner

Nestled behind two of John Baird’s former properties, this charming dwelling was originally constructed as a kitchen house by Baird. It was expanded into a home around 1908 and renovated in 2008. Cozy warmth describes this charming cottage-like abode, with a large wood-burning fireplace, exposed beams, and stone walls.

Sunday, December 10, 12 - 5

410 Grove Avenue
Circa 1783
Douglas and Marie Vargo

The Baird-Rambaut-LeMoine house was constructed of beaded heart pine by John Baird, who lived next door, for his daughter. The original one and a half story colonial house, with corner fireplaces and an King of Prussia black marble fireplace, sports an 1810 Federal addition with a decorative plaster ceiling and carved arches in the living room. The house was extensively renovated in 2000 and is filled with family favorites.

 406 N. Market Street
 Circa 1810
Joan Gardiner and Kevin Mullis

This Federal brick dwelling, built as a mercantile grocery, is a superb representation of the current trend of restoring properties to their past uses as both living and working space. The owners, experts in architectural design and repurposing, reside above their antique shop, Market 406. Their second-floor apartment has many original features, including fireplaces, molding, and evidence of prior renovations. The roof deck serves as a gateway to their beautiful outdoor surroundings.

Battersea Villa